RSS

Adding Excitement to Current Event Groups

15 Aug

I have used Uniquely Utah while conducting my current events group. My clients enjoyed the segments so much! I found another segment called Wirth Watching. Sometimes it is difficult for our clients to sit and listen to us read the newspaper. I find residents just start to fall asleep and/or become disinterested. Mixing up your current events can help clients stay engaged. I would pass around the paper to clients who had specific interests ie: if Mr. Jones liked sports, I would give him the sports page, if Mrs. Smith was the social butterfly of the building, I would give her the events page and so on. I let the clients choice which story they wanted to read, if they were unable to read the story then I would read it for them. I found clients liked watching the weather man so I would plug in my tablet to the TV and play a segment from the weather man. Again watching a segment from Uniquely Utah or Wirth Watching brings out a reminiscing or discussion group. What do you do to “spice up” your current event groups?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
